Danielle Villasana | Photojournalist

Bringing in the New Year

This past year was by far the hardest but also the most fulfilling. After graduating at the end of 2013, I officially moved to Peru in 2014 to attempt life as a freelance photojournalist. Though there were many days when I felt like there was no rope left to hang onto, I somehow passed through the storm. The persistence–perhaps stubborn and a bit crazy–would not have been possible without the endless help and support from family and friends. Seriously, so much would not have been possible without them. I am forever thankful for them.

Looking back, I am so grateful for all the experiences that taught me so much, that tested my patience, that made me push forward even though it all seemed so frustratingly impossible. Looking back, I am so thankful for all the friendships, for the people who shared their stories with me, and for the work that somehow came my way.

While working on two long-term projects–on transgender women living in Lima and on people living with Tuberculosis in Lima–I kept afloat with assignments for mainly local publications. My work took me to a few new places in and outside of Peru, introduced me to amazing people, and helped me grow professionally and personally.

Reflecting on the past year, I think the biggest lesson I learned—which I always believed was true but which this year proved to be true—is to never give up, ever. Ultimately, I am forever indebted to and grateful for the people who open up their lives to me, who trust me to document their struggles, hopes and successes, and who have given me so much more than a photograph—who have given me friendship, who have helped me evolve as a person, and who have opened my eyes and heart that much more.

With that, here are some moments from 2014 and with them I look forward to 2015 and all the adventures that await. Thanks for looking, I wish you a happy and prosperous new year.

This entry was published on January 3, 2015 at 9:44 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Bringing in the New Year

  1. Marilu Garza on said:

    I am so very proud of the woman that you have become….and I am thrilled that I was a very small part of your journey when you and Melisa were growing up together….school, camp, vacations, and everyday life……..cannot wait to see what the future holds for you…..xoxo

  2. Stunning year. You’re incredible.

  3. Original, shocking, one-world-all-the-world languaje, beautiful works! Congrats, friend!

Leave a Reply

