Danielle Villasana | Photojournalist

Southern California

For the next couple of months, I am living in Southern California before heading to Lima, Peru, for my last semester as an undergrad. Until then, I have been exploring this beautiful part of the country where the sky is a deep blue, the light is crisp and weightless, and the mountains and ocean are never too far off on the horizon.

When I look at these images, these first pictures of a new place, I realize how similar they look: one or two people in the frame, almost like a portrait, captured at a distance, as if I am present but not present enough to truly reach in. I think this is a result of getting to know a place and its people. I have found that this is often the case with me. My camera helps me understand, to say hello, to ask, to create human connections, to learn. This process can sometimes be fragile and slow.

I have been to the Oceanside market a couple of weekends in a row now and every time I feel like I am more a part of being there. To me, this is the most special part of photography: the learning process, the exploration, and delicate discoveries.

 

This entry was published on January 14, 2013 at 10:53 am. It’s filed under Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

