Danielle Villasana | Photojournalist

Bolivian Festival in Lujan

Every year in Lujan, a town outside of Buenos Aires that is home to a famed cathedral, there is a festival commemorating Bolivia’s most important religious icon, la Virgen de Copacabana. To celebrate, people set off fireworks, play folkloric music and dance in brightly colored costumes that symbolize the rich cultural history and diversity of Bolivia. Que suerte tuve de verla!

This entry was published on August 8, 2012 at 2:19 am. It’s filed under Photojournalism, Street Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

51 thoughts on “Bolivian Festival in Lujan

  1. loving the photos and the general vibe

  2. Good – I should definitely pronounce, impressed with your website. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs as well as related information ended up being truly simple to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it at all. Quite unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or something, website theme . a tones way for your client to communicate. Excellent task.

  3. Gorgeous photos! Such vibrant colors — and I dig the perspective. 🙂

  4. Wow. I love you shots 🙂 I wish I can also witness your festival someday!

  5. The photo with the women in front of the Cathedral..whoa. Miss you Danielle!

  6. Wonderful work, Danielle!
    Did you know that Luján, in the Spanish Era, had a great status, as that city had a Cabildo, the top Administration institution in Spanish organization?
    Congratulations!

  7. Divinas las fotos….te felicito Daniellle!!!

  8. What beautiful images and what a wonderful culture to celebrate. I am fascinated by all things Bolivian: the music, the dancing, the costumes, El Tio. I would have loved to have been there. I guess this is the next best thing! Thanks for sharing and congratulations on a well-deserved Freshly Pressed.
    – Meghan

    • villasanaphotography on said:

      Thanks! I agree, amazing, amazing traditions…well, this festival happens once a year in Lujan, so, you have lots of opportunities to visit!

  9. Awesome cover shot. I can’t wait to reach Bolivia and Argentina. Is there a large Bolivian population in that area?

    • villasanaphotography on said:

      Thank you! There is a big population in the Liniers neighborhood in Buenos Aires and it seems that there is one in Lujan after speaking to a lot of people there and one of my best friends I met in Argentina is from Bolivia…so, it seems that yes, there is!

  10. absolutely astonishing shoot!! i cant wait to visit, its incredible!!
    Do you mind checking out my blog http://www.candelacouture.com, its new and id love your feedback
    Thanks so much!!

    • villasanaphotography on said:

      Very informative site! Lots of information and a lot that I can learn definitely from it. I like the feel or your blog and it touches a lot of different themes/interests/subjects…buenisimo!

  11. Beautiful country.Very attractive post.Cheers

  12. Numero ocho, ME GUSTA, esta hermosa!! Espero lo mejor para ti. Miss you girl, stay safe!

  13. Absolutely loved the featured pic. It is so LIVE

  14. wow!! the shots are awesome….continue ur work…

  15. The perspective and angle = win.

  16. excellent photos! I can practically feel the joyous atmosphere! thanks for sharing!

  17. absolutely cool

  18. lovely shots! you have a lot of talent, keep up the amazing photographs. cheers, http://innamazing.wordpress.com/

  19. Floyda Foley on said:

    Fantastic festival! Great shots..

  20. I bet that was amazing to see! I love your photos, the colors are so vivid. Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!!

  21. Red Toenails on said:

    Fantastico!!

  22. A colorful celebration.
    At first I didn’t know much about Bolivia. But now I know some thing about Bolivia. Thank you for sharing these images here. Keep up the good work. 🙂

    http://radium360.wordpress.com

  23. Reblogged this on Radium360 and commented:
    The colorful radiance of a culture.

  24. I love learning about festivities from different cultures…there’s another one that’s pretty interesting in India called the Festival of Color (I think!)…it is also really bright and incredible like your photos.

    Cheers,
    Courtney Hosny

  25. Your photos have such a great vibe to them! Great job 🙂
    artijalan.wordpress.com

  26. ursulamanso on said:

    When you have some time I invite you taking a look at travelingtobrazil.wordpress.com I would appreciate your comments.

  27. Great blog you have here. I had difficulty deciding which board to pin this post to. I have two Pinterest boards. One for Talented Photographers and one for Diversity Topics. Festivals celebrated in various countries are clearly a display of the culture and diversity of that community. In the end, I pinned it to my board on Diversity Topics and then included a statement in the description indicating that the blog publisher is a talented photographer. In life, one is constantly building bridges of compromise. 🙂 [ http://pinterest.com/pin/183943966001247523/ ]

  28. beautiful and colourful….

  29. Wow, stellar pictures.

  30. Carlie Chew on said:

    Absolutely amazing photos!!!

  31. Beautiful, beautiful pictures!

  32. such lovely colorful festival and pictures! congrats on being FP. 🙂

  33. i never made that amazing photos 🙂

  34. crissamj on said:

    Your photos are lovely! I dig the colors and composition, especially of the last one/the one you used at the beginning of the post.

  35. The photographs are really vivid. It’s like they’re moving! What camera did you use?

  36. kollshi17 on said:

    thank you

  37. I have just discovered your blog! amazing photos!
    Love it!

    I will visit again your blog !
    Adrià Machado
    http://bearyourfashion.com/

  38. micaela on said:

    beautiful!!!! me encantaron danielle

Leave a Reply

